Meet the Board Print E-mail
Kerry McGoldrick KerryMcGoldrick

Non-executive director

Kerry was elected to the Board (previously the SEC) in 2013 and was elected as Chair in August 2015. He is a Director in the Advisory practice of Ernst & Young (EY) and is a recognised leader in governance, risk and resilience. Kerry is a lawyer by trade and holds an MBA and Graduate Diploma of Applied Corporate Governance. He is also on the NSW Council of Governance Institute of Australia. Kerry had a great time as a kid in the Sea Scouts, which fostered a lifelong interest in the outdoors.
Neville Tomkins OAM JP Neville Tomkins Ex officio director Chief Commissioner Neville reaffirmed his promise as Chief Commissioner in August 2016, after completing 35 years in the Commonwealth Public Service, including 25 years in the Senior Executive Service. He comes to NSW having served as Chief Commissioner for the ACT for 9 years and the International Commissioner for Scouts Australia for 6 years. He continues to serve in multiple Scouts Australia appointments, including that of National Coordinator for Redress. He has served on the National Executive of Scouts Australia, and as a National Councillor, for the past 15 years. Neville is inspired by the words of Mahatma Gandhi, ‘The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others’.
Robert Mulcahy Bob Mulcahy bw 2 Non-executive director Treasurer Bob joined the board in 2013. He is an experienced executive director and board member with a background of achievement in business and not for profit sectors in Oceania and Asia. He has expertise in building and mentoring boards, and board reporting requirements. Bob’s first appointment in Scouts NSW was Assistant Scout Leader (1977-1987). He cites working as a Water Activities Leader at the Perth Jamboree as one of his best times in Scouts.
Phil Crutchley Phil Crutchley bw 2 Ex officio director  In addition to being a director of the board, Phil serves as Region Commissioner for South Coast and Tablelands. He has a long history of numerous appointments with Scouts NSW, starting in 1989 as a Trainee Leader with 2nd Figtree Cub Pack. Phil has many years of managerial experience in heavy industry and local government, specialising in procurement, supply and logistics, and risk management.
Steve Fernie    Ex officio director
Claire Geary Claire Geary1 bw Non-executive director Claire was appointed to the board in 2015, after over 20 years of appointments in Scouts NSW. She is Head of Corporate Services in a heritage consultancy and has over 20 years of general management experience in corporate services, operations management, community development and education – gained in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors. She has an MBA and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Corporate Governance, and is a director of two companies. Claire savours the memories of late night laughs around the camp fire with other Leaders.
Jan Goodall   Ex officio director Jan has been a director since 2012. She has an extensive history of appointments with Scouts NSW, dating back to 1977, when she became an Assistant Cub Scout Leader with 2nd Belrose Scout Group. She has over half a dozen current appointments. Jan is a teacher by profession, and comes from a Scouting family.
Janet Hale janet hale bw Ex officio director Before becoming a member of the Scouts NSW board, Janet served for 22 years with NSW Police, reaching the rank of Detective Senior Constable, serving on specialist task forces, including homicide and drugs. Janet is North Coast Region Chair and Group Manager of 1st Ballina Scout Group. She also volunteers at her children’s local school in Ballina. Her family is actively involved in scouting, with children in the Rovers and Scouts sections, and her two sons having achieved the Queen Scout Award.
David Hassan david hassan bw Non-executive director  David joined the Scouts NSW board in 2015, and has since taken up other administrative and Leader appointments. David is a ScoutLink champion. He holds an MBA from UTS, and has a background as CIO and head of technology in several organisations, where he focussed on harnessing technology and digital assets to enable business outcomes.
Spencer Jarratt Spencer Jarratt Ex officio director Spencer joined the board in February 2015. He graduated from the Australian Catholic University in 2008 with a BA in Business and Communication Studies, and has since pursued a career in social media technologies and customer data research. At present he is a management consultant with Propel Group. Spencer has many great memories of being a Scout, including some memorable green cord hikes. He has been a member of Scouts NSW since 1995.
Stephen Wallace Steve Wallace Non-executive director Steve has worked in the IT field since 2003 and holds a BSc in Computer Science from UTS. He takes a close interest in how IT can be used to ease the administrative processes of Scouts NSW and helped deliver ScoutLink in 2014. Steve joined Scouts NSW as a Cub in 1990 and continued through to Rovers. He has occupied several Leader and supporter appointments, including being appointed to the Board in 2008, and is currently District Commissioner for Penrith City. He is passionate about young people having a voice in Scouting governance, and believes in Carpe Diem and ‘do unto others as you want done unto you.’



Scouts NSW

Copyright © 2015 Scouts Australia.