Meet the Board

Kerry McGoldrick


Chair of the Board

Kerry was elected to the Board (previously the SEC) in 2013 and was elected as Chair in August 2015. He is a Director in the Advisory practice of Ernst & Young (EY) and is a recognised leader in governance, risk and resilience. Kerry is a lawyer by trade and holds an MBA and Graduate Diploma of Applied Corporate Governance. He is also on the NSW Council of Governance Institute of Australia. Kerry had a great time as a kid in the Sea Scouts, which fostered a lifelong interest in the outdoors.

Phil Crutchley

Phil Crutchley bw 2

Deputy Chief of the Board 

In addition to being a director of the board, Phil serves as Region Commissioner for South Coast and Tablelands. He has a long history of numerous appointments with Scouts NSW, starting in 1989 as a Trainee Leader with 2nd Figtree Cub Pack. Phil has many years of managerial experience in heavy industry and local government, specialising in procurement, supply and logistics, and risk management.

Neville Tomkins OAM JP

Neville Tomkins

Chief Commissioner

Chief Commissioner Neville reaffirmed his promise as Chief Commissioner in August 2016, after completing 35 years in the Commonwealth Public Service, including 25 years in the Senior Executive Service. He comes to NSW having served as Chief Commissioner for the ACT for 9 years and the International Commissioner for Scouts Australia for 6 years. He continues to serve in multiple Scouts Australia appointments, including that of National Coordinator for Redress. He has served on the National Executive of Scouts Australia, and as a National Councillor, for the past 15 years. Neville is inspired by the words of Mahatma Gandhi, ‘The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others’.

Robert Mulcahy

Bob Mulcahy bw 2

Honorary Treasurer

Treasurer Bob joined the board in 2013. He is an experienced executive director and board member with a background of achievement in business and not for profit sectors in Oceania and Asia. He has expertise in building and mentoring boards, and board reporting requirements. Bob’s first appointment in Scouts NSW was Assistant Scout Leader (1977-1987). He cites working as a Water Activities Leader at the Perth Jamboree as one of his best times in Scouts.

Steve Fernie

Ex-Officio Director

Claire Geary

Claire Geary1 bw

Non-Executive Director

Claire was appointed to the board in 2015, after over 20 years of appointments in Scouts NSW. She is Head of Corporate Services in a heritage consultancy and has over 20 years of general management experience in corporate services, operations management, community development and education – gained in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors. She has an MBA and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Corporate Governance, and is a director of two companies. Claire savours the memories of late night laughs around the camp fire with other Leaders.

Robert Rodgers

Robert Rodgers bw sml

Ex-Officio Director

Robert was appointed to the board in 2017, after more than 25 years in the Scout Movement. Beyond Scouting, Robert has over 35 years experience as a solicitor specialising in Personal Injury Law. He also has extensive knowledge of Administrative Law and, in particular, Privacy, Discrimination and Disciplinary law and processes. Robert also holds postgraduate qualifications in Governance.

Janet Hale

janet hale bw

Ex-Officio Director

Before becoming a member of the Scouts NSW board, Janet served for 22 years with NSW Police, reaching the rank of Detective Senior Constable, serving on specialist task forces, including homicide and drugs. Janet is North Coast Region Chair and Group Manager of 1st Ballina Scout Group. She also volunteers at her children’s local school in Ballina. Her family is actively involved in scouting, with children in the Rovers and Scouts sections, and her two sons having achieved the Queen Scout Award.

David Hassan

david hassan bw

Non-Executive Director 

David joined the Scouts NSW board in 2015, and has since taken up other administrative and Leader appointments. David is a ScoutLink champion. He holds an MBA from UTS, and has a background as CIO and head of technology in several organisations, where he focussed on harnessing technology and digital assets to enable business outcomes.

Luke Saunders

Ex-Officio Director

Antony Keenan

Non-Executive Director 

Steve has worked in the IT field since 2003 and holds a BSc in Computer Science from UTS. He takes a close interest in how IT can be used to ease the administrative processes of Scouts NSW and helped deliver ScoutLink in 2014. Steve joined Scouts NSW as a Cub in 1990 and continued through to Rovers. He has occupied several Leader and supporter appointments, including being appointed to the Board in 2008, and is currently District Commissioner for Penrith City. He is passionate about young people having a voice in Scouting governance, and believes in Carpe Diem and ‘do unto others as you want done unto you.’

Kerryn Boland

Non-Executive Director 

Antony joined the Board in 2018 as a Non-Executive Director. Antony’s career spans over 20 years in senior retail management including 12 years property management leading some of Australia’s largest shopping centres. Antony is also heavily involved in Diversity and Inclusion workplace initiatives with experience in a number of specialties. Antony is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD), a licenced Real Estate Agent and is Degree qualified. Antony enjoyed spending his youth growing up in the Scouting movement and attributes his leadership abilities today to the experiences and life skills received during that time.